The Society operates the Edina Historical Center at Frank Tupa Park, 4918 Eden Avenue The site includes two restored historic buildings: the one-room Cahill School built in 1864 and the Minnehaha Grange Hall built in
1879. The park and buildings are open by appointment and on special occasions. In addition, the Cahill School provides a living museum for elementary students who come daily during the school year to experience life in a turn-of-the-century country school.
The Society also operates a historic museum at Arneson Acres Park, 4711 West 70th Street. The museum is open 4 p.m. to 8 p.m. Thursdays, 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturdays and by appointment. Displays cover topics such as the Edina Mill, archaeological exploration of the former Edina Mill and the history of Edina schools.
The Society holds meetings throughout the year that cover local and state history, antiques and pioneer handicrafts. Members of the Society are also available to speak in classrooms and at civic meetings. In addition, the group has prepared a slide and tape presentation as well as a new “History of Edina” video on the history of the City.
Members & Volunteers
The Society welcomes new members and volunteers. For more information or to arrange a tour of the Historical Center or Museum, call 612-928-4577
, or visit Edina Historical Society