Southwest Community Television

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3


The Southwest Suburban Cable Commission represents the cities of Eden Prairie, Edina, Hopkins, Minnetonka and Richfield and created Southwest Television (SWTV) to manage the educational and public access channels available to cable television subscribers.

History / Updates

As of September 1, 2013, Comcast no longer manages the playback of educational and public access programming. The playback is coordinated by the City of Edina and its Community Television Administrator in the form of SWTV.

On December 15, 2015, CenturyLink was granted a cable franchise agreement by the Edina City Council creating two cable television service providers within the City of Edina.

If you are interested in ordering cable television service, visit the Comcast website or the CenturyLink website.


Education Channels - Comcast: 14 / CenturyLink: 8110

The Education Channel provides programming produced by the six school districts in the commission's service footprint area:

  • Eden Prairie
  • Edina
  • Hopkins
  • Minnetonka
  • Richfield
  • Wayzata

Public Access Channels - Comcast: 15 / CenturyLink: 8111

The Public Access Channel allows any resident living in the cities of Eden Prairie, Edina, Hopkins, Minnetonka and Richfield to submit content for broadcast. These residents may also sponsor programming produced by a non-resident.

Government Access Channels - Comcast: 16 / CenturyLink: 236

The Government Access Channel provides video content produced by the five member cities. In late 2013, a high-definition Government Access Channel became available in both Eden Prairie and Edina.

 For more information or to report technical issues with any of the above channels, contact the Community Television Administrator by calling 952-826-0344 or emailing.